How to concatenate and shuffle two tensorflow dataset with 10000 records each without running out of memory (11GB)

Hey,
I’m relatively new to tensorflow so please excuse me if this is a

beginner question:D

Here is what I’m trying to do:
I have 2 separate Datasets:

1. melanoma_ds: contains 10000 true positive cases (Tensorflow dataset)
  2. no_melanoma_ds: contains 10000 true negative cases (Tensorflow dataset)

I would like to concatenate these two datasets and do a shuffle afterwards.
train_ds = no_melanoma_ds.concatenate(melanoma_ds)

My problem is the shuffle.

I want to have a well shuffled train dataset so I tried to use:
train_ds = train_ds.shuffle(20000)
I’m using google colab and it seems like I ran out of graphic card memory (limit of 11GB).
→ colab session crashes

So I tried to pick smaller batches (5000 instead of 20000) from my two datasets no_melanoma_ds
and melanoma_ds shuffle them with a buffer_size of only 5000 and concatenate all of them afterwards:

def memory_efficient_shuffle(melanoma_ds=melanoma_ds, no_melanoma_portion=no_melanoma_portion):
  shuffle_rounds = 4
  tmp_start = 0
  batch_each_class = 2500
  final_shuffle_ds = None

for i in range(shuffle_rounds):
    tmp_start = batch_each_class * i
    tmp_melanoma_ds = melanoma_ds.skip(tmp_start).take(batch_each_class)
    tmp_no_melanoma_ds = no_melanoma_portion.skip(tmp_start).take(batch_each_class)
    both_portions_ds = tmp_melanoma_ds.concatenate(tmp_no_melanoma_ds)
    shuffled_portion_ds = both_portions_ds.shuffle(5000)

final_shuffled_ds = shuffled_portion_ds if final_shuffle_ds == None else final_shuffle_ds.concatenate(shuffled_portion_ds)
  return final_shuffled_ds

This actually works and the session does not crash…
But if I try to pick the first element of the shuffled dataset it takes too much time and i don’t know if the program will ever terminate.

final_shuffled_ds = memory_efficient_shuffle()
image, label = next(iter(final_shuffled_ds))