Keras model stops training after first step of epoch

I am new to deep learning but am looking to employ the 3D-RCAN neural network to denoise microscopy images. Unfortunately, I’m having trouble training this network properly on my computer. My machine’s hardware and software environments are:

• Windows 10
  • Intel(R) Xeon(R) Gold 5220R CPU, 128 GB memory
  • NVIDIA RTX A6000 GPU, 48 GB memory
  • CUDA v11.2 with cuDNN v8.1.1.33
  • NVIDIA Driver 511.09
  • Python 3.9.7 in an Anaconda environment
  • tensorflow 2.8.0 and tensorflow-gpu 2.8.0

The network was written and tested in tensorflow_gpu==1.13.1. I have been able to train the network on my older computer, with a less powerful GPU, by reproducing the environment of the authors. However, I cannot do this on my my new computer with a more powerful GPU. By making some small modifications to the code, I’ve gotten the network to complete the training without an error message. I sometimes (but not always) receive the warning message

~\anaconda3\lib\site-packages\keras\engine\data_adapter.py:830 RuntimeWarning: Failed to sample a valid patch."

It is clear that the network is not functioning properly- it appears to stop the training after the first step of the first epoch if I set the steps_per_epoch hyperparameter to be greater than 1. If steps_per_epoch=1, then the training does complete.

My major question, then, is what could be causing the network to stop training after the first step when steps_per_epoch>1? I’ve been looking into potential issues with the data_generator but haven’t been able to figure out whether this is the root cause. The generation is being done with a Keras sequence object to generate batches indefinitely.

A potential clue is that the GPU memory usage appears to spike to 100% just as the function is exiting. This is unexpected because this behavior does not occur on my old computer with far less GPU memory (6 GB).