Model Maker TF Lite Slow Inference

I’m seeing slow object detection inference times on models trained using the efficientdet_lite0.

I’m using the TF Lite model maker example notebook for object detection with a custom dataset and am seeing inference times of 1.5-2 seconds on my MacBook Pro (single thread, no GPU). I can bring this down to around 0.75s with num_threads set to 4 but this seems to be much greater than the 37ms latency the notebook mentions. I thought it could be caused by overhead loading the model but subsequent calls to the interpreter.invoke method yield similar performance. My perf measurement is v basic, using time.perf_counter() either side of the invoke call. I’m quite new to all this so I feel like I’m doing something obviously wrong? Or am I missing something with post-training quantization?

In Google colab I’m seeing similar performance with the default notebook using the dataset provided in the notebook.

HI Nick,

in the colab test you did, is the runtime using a GPU? this can make a big difference.

I left the default settings for the notebook which I believe has the runtime set to GPU but I’ll double check that setting and rerun anyways. Even so, I was expecting comparable latency running the TFLite model on my macbook (quad core i7, 16gb ram) with 4 threads to the benchmarks listed in the notebook for pixel 4?

I’m going to try build tf from source rather than installing via pip as I know that should improve performance and I believe the benchmarks in the notebook are for the integer quantized model so I’ll also try that.

For the non-integer quantized model, running on TF installed via pip with 4 threads, does 0.6-0.75s per inference sound reasonable or is it likely I’ve messed something up along the way?

FYI the only bit of the notebook I changed is the detect_objects:

import time
start = time.perf_counter()
interpreter.invoke()
end = time.perf_counter()
print(end - start)