Problem with Image Captioning tutorial

Hello. I’m new to NLP and I’m trying to follow Tensorflow’s tutorial on Image Captioning (Image captioning with visual attention  |  TensorFlow Core), but I ran into an problem when trying to preprocess the images with InceptionV3. As said in the tutorial, I have a preprocessing function

def load_image(image_path):   
    img = tf.io.read_file(image_path)    
    img = tf.image.decode_jpeg(img, channels=3)    
    img = tf.image.resize(img, (299, 299))    
    img = tf.keras.applications.inception_v3.preprocess_input(img)    
    return img, image_path

Then I use it to get a BatchDataset (I get a <BatchDataset shapes: ((None, 299, 299, 3), (None,)), types: (tf.float32, tf.string)>)

# Get unique images
encode_train = sorted(set(img_name_vector))
# Feel free to change batch_size according to your system configuration
image_dataset = tf.data.Dataset.from_tensor_slices(encode_train)
image_dataset = image_dataset.map(load_image, num_parallel_calls=tf.data.experimental.AUTOTUNE).batch(16)

Up to this point, everything works, but then when I try

for img, path in image_dataset:
    #Do something

Either nothing happens or the kernel dies. Is there a way to fix or circumvent that issue?

Hi,

I’ve just tried the colab you linked to and it passed the part you mentioned (and finished fine).
Is your runtime configured to use GPU?

When the kernel dies might be an out of memory issue, did you notice that on the RAM bar on the top right corner?

Thanks for the reply, @lgusm .
I don’t think this is a memory issue. I purposefully reduced the number of images down to 64 so that such a problem can’t happen. I also checked my task manager and didn’t see any problem there either.
Could there be a problem with the tensorflow version that I’m using? It’s not likely the problem, but I think I have an earlier version than the one used on colab.

hum, maybe

@markdaoust might know more about it.

Given that: