Integrating YOLOv5 tflite Models into Android

Hello,

I’m new to TensorFlow Lite and currently working on integrating a YOLOv5 model, converted to tflite by my team, into an Android application. I’ve been provided with two different versions of the model, but I’m facing challenges integrating either of them. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any resources to help me with this integration.

Here are visuals of the two model versions:

First Model Option

First Model Option

Second Model Option

Is there anyone who could assist me with this or recommend any resources that might help? Your guidance and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Hi @Jim-Morrison ,

You can use both files if you are familiar with Machine Learning and can read the python code of your team. You can see there how they are doing the inference and convert the code into java/kotlin. You can also ask them if the model contains metadata and if they have used TensorFlow/Keras or Mediapipe to train the model.
If you are not familiar then you probably have to start with checking the TensorFlow Lite guide here.
Inside there there is an Object Detection example. Check the guide how you can use TensorFlow Lite for inference before you jump into the Android code.
One of the models this example uses is pretty much like yours:

Tag me if you have more questions.

Regards

mobilenetv1.tflite

I’ve successfully integrated the model mentioned earlier (mobilenetv1.tflite), which is similar to mine, as depicted in the attached image. With this integrated model, I can generate the expected output, as indicated in the image. The integration with this model is functioning smoothly.

myFirstModel

However, when I add ‘myFirstModel’ to the same project and use the sample code suggested by Android Studio, the application throws an exception. When I add my ‘myFirstModel’ model to the example in the doc, the app throws an exception again.