Mapping strings to ints during preprocessing stage

Hi everyone!

I’m looking to train several models - image classification - on a large dataset which I want to represent as TFRecord files. Today I know how to do it if I save the image (tf.string) and class number (int64). I’d like to be able to set the class numbers during preprocess from a saved string.

Motivation - the dataset I’m working on contains images which can be classified as a more general category (i.e. dogs, cats) and more specifically (labrador, bulldog, persian cat). The labels are mostly more specific, so an image can go though a cascade of a more general category (model of cat/dog/negative), and then a more nuanced model (labrador/bulldog/neg).

I’m relatively new to the framework, and I was able to express what I want in eager execution mode using .numpy() method (code below).

My question is how can this mapping be done efficiently? what methods should I look for?

import tensorflow as tf
import functools

# example: this model classifies dogs and cats
example_label_map = {
    "bulldog": "dog",
    "labrador": "dog",
    "persian cat": "cat",
    "cow": "neg",
}

# map the N classes to an int of 0..N-1
labels_to_class_int = {
    "neg": 0,   # negative class
    "dog": 1,
    "cat": 2,
}

def parse_tfrec_function(example, labels_map):
    """
    labels is a map of labels to class numbers. e.g. "bulldog" -> 1, "labrador" -> 1, "persian cat" -> 2, ...
    """
    image_feature_description = {
        "image": tf.io.FixedLenFeature([], tf.string),
        "label": tf.io.FixedLenFeature([], tf.string)
    }

features = tf.io.parse_single_example(example, image_feature_description)

image = tf.io.parse_tensor(features["image"], tf.uint8)
    label = features["label"].numpy().decode('utf-8')
    class_num = labels_map[label]

return image, class_num

tfrec_file = ['/srv/mickey/build-cls/test/data/dataset.tfrec']
dataset = tf.data.TFRecordDataset(tfrec_file)

labels_map = {}