Multiple features with a mix of oneHot and floats in the same training

Hi all,

I’m new to tf and I mostly use the nodejs api.
I wanted to make sure I will implement correctly my use case. So please confirm I’m doing it well :

• in my data, I have a float value that will be [0-1] normalized
  • I also have another float value that I can normalize as well on a distinct scale [0-1]
  • I then have 3 categorical values that I’m able to oneHot encode each of them separately (e.g.: cat1 [0, 0, 1] … cat2 [0, 0, 0, 1] … cat3 [0, 1] …)
  • and I also have a multi value, oneHot encoded [0, 0, 0, 1] …

I believe I can say I have 5 features + 1 label encoded along 4 classes.
Hence it seem the shape of feature is not the same as the classes shape. And I really don’t know how to to make the nodejs code so that it can handle all features with the label.
So far, the only trainable model is when I only keep 1 float feature + the oneHot label. But I’m not able to have multiple features with a mix of oneHot and floats in the same training.
I do not find online tutorial to help me understand how I can do that correctly. Any idea ?

Thanks a lot.

Welcome to the forum @Math and thanks for being part of the Web ML / Web AI community with TensorFlow.js node!

So seems like you are off to a great start by normalizing your input features before training. This can prevent huge scale differences between those input features.

For your 1 hot encodings, I just want to check you are doing that correctly. Essentially if you have 3 categories (possible classes) for your label, so your 1 hot would look like more like this:

[1, 0, 0] = Cat 1
[0, 1, 0] = Cat 2
[0, 0, 1] = Cat 3

In your example your length changes for some reason. I cover 1 hot in more detail in my course here:

If you had 4 classification classes to 1-hot encode then it would be the same but with length 4 instead with the 1 changing position representing each different class type.