Problems with training a model on a dataset that doesn't fit into RAM memory

Hi everyone!

I’m a student who’s trying to get the python code of a model from a research paper to work. I’ve managed to tweak the code such that it is suitable for my own dataset and such that it can train on a very small dataset without generating any erros, showing that the code itself is fine. My dataset, however, as a whole, is too large to fit into RAM memory, it’s a dataset of 1,2T. Even splitting everything in batches of 5 files results in batches of 10 GB, as I’m working with multicoil mri data. This batch size in and of itself, however, is fine, as I have 40GB of RAM available during busy periods and if it’s calm (like now), I can even use 100GB of RAM. This means that I would want to train by loading in these batches, which I stored as separate .npy files, on the fly.

When conducting some research, I found that the .from_generator() class/function can help with this, so I tried to write code which can do this for me. These are the important excerpts of code that I wrote for the problem at hand:

# Other stuff preceding

## Prepare dataset

path_to_save_mri_data = '/usr/local/micapollo01/MIC/DATA/STUDENTS/mvhave7/Results/Preprocessing/mri/'
path_to_save_grappa_data = '/usr/local/micapollo01/MIC/DATA/STUDENTS/mvhave7/Results/Preprocessing/grappa/'

file_paths_train = sorted(glob.glob(path_to_save_mri_data+"training_data_GrappaNet_16_coils_batch_*.npy"))
file_paths_train_GT = sorted(glob.glob(path_to_save_mri_data+"training_data_GT_GrappaNet_16_coils_batch_*.npy"))
file_paths_val = sorted(glob.glob(path_to_save_mri_data+"validation_data_GrappaNet_16_coils_batch_*.npy"))
file_paths_val_GT = sorted(glob.glob(path_to_save_mri_data+"validation_data_GT_GrappaNet_16_coils_batch_*.npy"))
file_paths_grappa_indx_train = sorted(glob.glob(path_to_save_grappa_data+"grappa_train_indx_GrappaNet_16_coils_batch_*.npy"))