Tensorflow not detecting GPU in Ubuntu 20.04 while using Conda

I’m a ML researcher trying to get Tensorflow to detect a RTX 3060 GPU for training models. I’m confident it is a version mismatch, however I cannot find what software has the wrong version.

Specs:
GPU: RTX 3060
CUDA: version 12.2
Tensorflow: version 2.12.0 (latest version available in conda)

I tried to upgrade TF to version 2.15.0 using pip instead of conda and this completly broke my Tensorflow install inside conda’s base env.

Running ‘nvidia-smi’ displays my gpu and cuda version correctly.

Running 'python -c “import tensorflow as tf” ’ does not work anymore, as it gives an error about mismatching dependencies (namely libgcc, but there may be more errors)

Running ‘conda install cuda’ as instructed by CUDA docs does not solve the issue

Running 'conda install tensorflow[and-cuda] as instructed by Tensorflow docs does not solve the issue

There is a 2.15.0 tensorflow available in conda-forge, but even after installing it my TF install remains broken.

A complete reinstall of conda is an option but I’m avoiding it because of time constraints.

How can I fix the TF install AND have it detect GPUs in the scenario?

Welcome @Luiz_Costa to the TensorFlow community :slight_smile:

You can try the following steps (it should take just a few minutes):

1. Create a fresh conda virtual environment and activate it,
  2. pip install --upgrade pip,
  3. pip install tensorflow[and-cuda],
  4. Set environment variables:

Locate the directory for the conda environment in your terminal window by running in the terminal:

echo $CONDA_PREFIX

Enter that directory and create these subdirectories and files:

cd $CONDA_PREFIX
mkdir -p ./etc/conda/activate.d
mkdir -p ./etc/conda/deactivate.d
touch ./etc/conda/activate.d/env_vars.sh
touch ./etc/conda/deactivate.d/env_vars.sh

Edit ./etc/conda/activate.d/env_vars.sh as follows:

#!/bin/sh

# Store original LD_LIBRARY_PATH