TFX for vision?

Great updates from the TFX team at I/O. I am also a newbie in this area and after completing a few lessons from the Coursera MLOps Specialization, I got instantly hooked to TFX. Such an amazing framework! Data validator is my favorite component so far. @Robert_Crowe thank you for teaching it so beautifully.

In this video, I learned about TFX for NLP. As someone heavily into Computer Vision, a question arises:

Will there be core support for Vision inside TFX?

1 Like

FWIW, there are CIFAR10 example pipelines in the tensorflow/tfx repo.

2 Likes

Aware of that, mate. TFX for NLP offers utilities specific to NLP tasks such easy reporting of topline metrics, seamless integration of preprocessing utilities, and so on.

1 Like

maybe @Robert_Crowe can help here

1 Like

Yes, hence tagged him.

1 Like

Hi, sorry for the delay responding! Sayak you are correct that TFX offers some deeper support for NLP in the Evaluator component, by offering BLEU and ROUGE metrics.

For image processing we don’t yet have the same level of support, but there is an example for this. It shows:

• How to use a Keras application and to fine-tune the MobileNet image classification model.
  • How to perform data augmentation within the pipeline to ensure that the model generalizes well.
  • It invokes the rewriter to convert the model into TFLite.
  • Finally it shows how to write the required TFLite metadata to make the model compatible with MLKit.
3 Likes

Thanks, @Robert_Crowe. I think it might be good to have support for more involved vision metrics like mAP, IoU, etc. since they are common object detection and segmentation respectively. Both of them are quite extensively used.

2 Likes

Thanks Sayak, and I agree that for object detection and segmentation those would be great metrics to have in TFMA. We also need validation measures in TFDV, and I know that some folks are working on that.

2 Likes