Training Variational Autoencoder (VAE) from multiple input tensors

Hi team,

I am new to the VAE implementation. And I want to predict SINR (RBG) image from multiple tensors such as Euclidean distance image, 3D distance image, Permittivity image, and Conductivity image (all in RBG).

Please let me know if there is any sample work done in such topic, or a headstart that anyone can give me. I could not find any relevant work online that could help me with the architecture.

Looking forward to any kind of suggestion.

Thank You,
Rahul

I have been looking at python Functional APIs. I am attaching a few relevant links below for future reference. This helps us in concatenation multiple inputs to predict multiple outputs, which is something I am looking for.

Link-1: The Functional API  |  TensorFlow Core

Link-2: https://machinelearningmastery.com/keras-functional-api-deep-learning/

To predict an SINR image from multiple input tensors like Euclidean distance, 3D distance, permittivity, and conductivity images using a Variational Autoencoder (VAE), you should create a multi-input VAE architecture. This involves separate input layers for each type of image, feature extraction layers for each input, a fusion layer to concatenate all features, and a typical VAE encoder-decoder structure with a latent space. The model would use convolutional layers for feature extraction and transposed convolutional layers in the decoder to reconstruct the target SINR image. Training involves optimizing both reconstruction loss and the KL divergence to ensure effective learning and generation. This approach requires experimentation with the model’s architecture, hyperparameters, and training procedures to achieve the desired results.

Thank you @Tim_Wolfe for the suggestion. I was able to successfully formulate my encoder and decoder with multiple inputs.

To compute the overall loss from the two input tensors, I’ve implemented the following steps: